Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Mace and Crown | May 24, 2018

Scroll to top


No Comments

The Monarch Summer Music Guide

Adam Flores | Senior Writer

Summer is right around the corner, but the music charts are already on fire with hot, new music. Check out these upcoming artist titles among the many new music releases this summer as a continuation of your soundtrack to life.

“Melodrama” by Lorde (June 16)

Courtesy Universal Music New Zealand Limited

Following the eye-opening realization of her 2013 “Pure Heroine” debut, Lorde’s sophomore set includes the previously released, emotion-driven resilience of “Green Light” and melancholic “Liability.” Promising to be a coming-of-age narrative, the now twentysomething artist born Ella Marija Lani Yelich-O’Connor looks to prove her place among a growing, pop-induced feminist mainstream.

“OKNOTOK” by Radiohead (June 23)

Courtesy XL Recordings

Adding to the growing influx of artist ‘Deluxe’ and ‘Special Edition’ sets, Radiohead’s “OKNOTOK” revisits their seminal 1997 release of “OK Computer,” completely remastered adding eight B-sides and three previously unreleased tracks. Their last studio effort, 2016’s “A Moon Shaped Pool” moves away from cynisistic plot line into simpler truths surrounded by wonder and amazement.

“CTRL” by SZA (June 23)

Courtesy Top Dawg Entertainment

The highly-anticipated follow-up to 2014’s “Z,” “CTRL” includes previously released tracks “Love Galore,” “Drew Barrymore,” “twoAM,” a rework of “PARTYNEXTDOOR” and Drake’s “Come and See Me.” The new album by Supreme Alphabet inspired SZA–born Solána Imani Rowedelivers an inspirational set of tracks denouncing life’s unnecessary drama and rising to the top of your game.

Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 1 by Calvin Harris (June 30)

Courtesy Sony Music Entertainment Limited

Harris looks to prove you can’t go wrong working with an all-star lineup featuring Frank Ocean, Travis Scott, Nicki Minaj, Future, Pharrell, Katy Perry, Big Sean, John Legend, Khalid, Migos, Schoolboy Q, Ariana Grande, Young Thug, D.R.A.M., Kehlani, and more. As the follow-up to his 2014 “Motion” album, Harris continues his quest in working with the greatest artists of our generation.

“Something to Tell You” by Haim (July 7)

Courtesy Columbia Records

Haim, the Los Angeles-based sister act, present their sophomore release of “Something to Tell You.” With a notable performance of new track “Little of Your Love” recently on “SNL,” Este, Danielle and Alaina also released a teaser video for “Right Now” back in April. With “Want You Back” already in circulation, Haim also features collaborative work with Vampire Weekend’s Rostam Batmanglij.

“Need to Feel Your Love” by Sheer Mag (July 14)

Courtesy WILSUN RC

Philadephia-based rock outfit Sheer Mag debut their first, full-length studio epic, “Need to Feel Your Love,” following a triumphant trilogy of EPs and a remastered compilation. With the title-track and “Just Can’t Get Enough” already in circulation, their ‘70s rock and punk spirit continues their war cry representing all who suffer from the brunt ignorance and injustice of an imbalanced system.

“Lust for Life” by Lana Del Rey (July 21)

Courtesy Polydor

The honeymoon is over. Following her last studio release back in 2015, Lana Del Rey has graced us already with teasers “Lust for Life” (in collaboration with The Weeknd and accompanying music video), “Love” and a performance of “Cherry” at the KROQ Weenie Roast y Fiesta. The disc also features contributions from legendary industry music artists Sean Lennon and Stevie Nicks.

“Everything Now” by Arcade Fire (July 28)

Courtesy Columbia

Canadian indie and art rock conglomerate Arcade Fire are set to release their fifth studio LP, “Everything Now,” the first offering of a current two-record deal with a new label, Columbia. The title track is now available with accompanying music video. Recorded in New Orleans, Montreal and Paris, they also sought production help from Steve Mackey of Pulp and Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter.

“Cost of Living” by Downtown Boys (August 11)

Courtesy Sub Pop

“Cost of Living” marks the first release under the Sub Pop label for punk rock group and Providence, Rhode Island natives, Downtown Boys. Labeled by Rolling Stone magazine in February 2016 as “America’s Most Exciting Punk Band,” they have already released the fiery single “A Wall” showcasing frontwoman Victoria Ruiz’s rebel yell and insight into the new collection’s abrupt energy.

“Painted Ruins” by Grizzly Bear (August 18)

Courtesy RCA Records

Brooklyn, New York, rock band Grizzly Bear will soon release “Painted Ruins,” their highly anticipated fifth studio project since 2012’s critically acclaimed commercial breakthrough, “Shields.” “Mourning Sound” (with music video via Vevo) and “Three Rings” are two singles already out. The two-year creation process hears the group continue their spellbinding and insistent sonic trek.